Posts Tagged ‘Brad Wood’

Skating Polly – Hail Mary

(click song title above to listen)

This week’s top tune was the first song the band along with Louise Post & Nina Gordon of Veruca Salt wrote for their brilliant new ep New Trick. NPR calls their horror-chic video ‘vaguely haunted, quite uncanny and good, creepy fun’. The band says the tune is “about being addicted to poisonous people. We wanted the one of the video to be somewhat serious, but not self-serious”.

It’s been said, and we whole-heartedly agree, that what the world needs now is another great rock and roll band.
Step sisters Kelli, Peyton, and brother Kurtis, are composers and they are performers, this is true. But perhaps most importantly, they are cultural reflections unto not only themselves, but to society. The members of the band have been pursuing their private destinies within the confines of the pop music jungle. As is so rarely the case, the whole of Skating Polly is much greater than the sum of its parts and the newly formed amalgam threatens to undermine the foundations of the rock power elite. Godspeed young Polly, godspeed.

Fresh off a triumphant UK tour supporting Kate Nash, the Polly return to the States supporting punk legends X’s 40th Anniversary Tour starting Sept 6th in Las Vegas including a slot at Chicago’s Riot Fest 2017 on Sept 15th!

19956934 1753959444632272 915160996283714278 o 300x300 Skating Polly   Hail Mary

Contact & Licensing:
“Hail Mary” was written by Kelli Mayo, Peyton Bighorse, Louise Post, and Nina Gordon. Skating Polly is published by Go Polly Girl Songs (ASCAP) and Melting By 40 Music (ASCAP)/Some Kind of Music LLC, a Notable Music Co. / contact: Damon Booth / Administered by Downtown Music Publishing. / contact: Sean McGraw /
Louise Post and Nina Gordon are published by Big Deal Notes/Are You There God It’s Me Music (ASCAP). Administered by Words & Music, a division of Big Deal Music LLC.
Master controlled by El Camino Media.

no comments

Skating Polly’s New Trick

Skating Polly 3 motel 1024x682 Skating Pollys New TrickSkating Polly‘s New Trick EP featuring Nina Gordon and Louise Post of Veruca Salt drops today via El Camino Media! Produced by legendary producer Brad Wood (Liz Phair, Sunny Day Real Estate, Smashing Pumpkins) New Trick finds Kelli Mayo (17) and Peyton Bighorse (21) joined full-time by brother Kurtis Mayo (20) on drums.

New Trick features three songs they co-wrote and recorded with Veruca Salt’s co-front women. Veruca Salt’s influence is readily apparent: Opener “Louder in Outer Space” boasts addictive hooks cut from the same cloth as “Seether”-era pop, and the dark, brooding “Hail Mary” showcases their knack for writing harmonies. But the raw lyrics and heartfelt ethos are all Skating Polly’s own.” – Seattle Weekly


no comments

Skating Polly – Cosmetic Skull

(click song title above to listen)

And I’ll just be your mud rug, my dear.
And I’ll keep writing little headaches for your ears.

When Skating Polly finished their record The Big Fit, they had a goal to make a video for every song on the album. “Cosmetic Skull” rounds out the 12th and final video for the album and it’s been an impressive and inspiring adventure watching each tale take shape! Starting with first pre-album release single “Nothing More Than A Body” in May 2015 (the sneering, eponymous track was written as an existential response to meeting long-time idol Jeff Mangum of Neutral Milk Hotel), to the L7 anthem-like “Perfume For Now” in February of last year (their first after relocating to Tacoma Washington from Oklahoma) to this week’s Top Tune. The latest video marks their 7th collaboration with director Dave Smith from the album and you can check ‘em all out here:

The Big Fit – video timeline:
Nothing More Than A Body - May 2015 (dir Drake Matney)
Perfume For Now – Feb 2016 (dir Nickolas Rossi)
Pretective Boy – March 2016 (dir Dave Smith)
Hey Sweet – March 2016 (dir Dave Smith)
Stop Digging – April 2016 (dir Dave Smith)
For The View – May 2016 (dir Drake Matney)
Picker of His Words – Aug 2016 (dir Dave Smith)
Across the Caves – Sept 2016 (dir Sofia Due Rosenzweig)
Morning Dew – Nov 2016 (dir Sofia Due Rosenzweig)
Oddie Moore – Jan 2017 (dir Dave Smith)
Arms & Opinions – Feb 2017 (dir Dave Smith)
Cosmetic Skull – March 2017 (dir Dave Smith)

The band has just announced a full spring tour in support of their upcoming EP New Trick (coming April 28 via El Camino Media). We cannot wait to share it, all songs were recorded and co-written with a pair of their musical heroes, Nina Gordon and Louise Post of Veruca Salt! The EP was produced by Brad Wood (Liz Phair, Sunny Day Real Estate) and as Peyton explains “This was the first time we were able to work as a full band and I think it really just opened up this new level for us in the sense that we were able to add other elements and make things sound bigger than they had in the past”. In that spirit the band recently added Kelli Mayo’s brother Kurtis who has joined the band on drums. Dig it!

unnamed 12 1024x682 Skating Polly   Cosmetic Skull

Contact & Licensing:
“Cosmetic Skull” was written by Skating Polly and is published by Go Polly Girl Songs (ASCAP) and Melting By 40 Music (ASCAP)/Some Kind of Music LLC, a Notable Music Co. / contact: Damon Booth / Administered by Downtown Music Publishing. / contact: Sean McGraw / Master controlled by Skating Polly.

no comments